OTA broadcast possibilities - Forum.
Bradskey
  • Bradskey
  • Advanced Member Topic Starter
2021-01-03T19:53:50Z
TLDR; Just speculating about the potential for more classic cartoons returning to US broadcast television on various OTA diginets. I'm not an expert, not connected, have no real industry insight, and don't know anybody or anything. I have assumptions and things I think I know, but am likely wrong on some points.

With what has happened now with the first initial broadcasts of classic theatrical cartoons on MeTV, which is significant in several ways, I thought I'd explore where things could go from here if there were a true revival of airing cartoons, and particularly golden age cartoons, across the broader TV landscape the way they used to, especially via OTA broadcast. Packages of classic theatrical cartoons were part and parcel of broadcast TV for about 50 years, but have been almost entirely MIA for 20+ years until this weekend's MeTV cartoon broadcasts. So I'm just rambling about what the future could hold if MeTV were to somehow start a trend in broadcasting.